#96

Yesterday the Hubby and I met for lunch and decided to try this Austin institution for the first time.  And today, with my leftovers calling from the fridge, I weep for the 3+ years I’ve spent in this town without knowing the greatness that is Katz’s.  How I managed to survive without their delicious fried pickle spears (which are far superior to the fried pickle chips), I’ll never know.  The batter was a perfect mix of crunch and spice that didn’t drown out the flavor of the salty pickley goodness. 

And then there’s the french dip!  OH how I love the cow (yes cow!) they served me (well, the Hubby, actually)  with warm, gooey provalone and smashed between fresh ciabatta.  The Hubby is very, very lucky that the I rather enjoyed the Rueben I ordered or else he might have found himself lunchless.  He most certainly did not get dibs on the french dip leftovers, though.

If all that weren’t enough, Katz’s also served me a bit of coleslaw exactly the way I like it.  None of that oily, slimy dressing that I’m used to getting here in Austin.  (What is up with THAT, I ask you!)  And the ratio of dressing to celery seeds to veggies was PERFECT. 

After ordering the Hubby discovered that they serve *dramatic pause….wait for it….wait for it….wait….* one-pound slices of cheesecake!!!!!  I nearly swooned at the prospect.  I plan on fasting for at least a day and then gorging myself.  I can’t wait….

You know, it’s a good thing that Katz’s Never Kloses, because I may never Kook again.  Two thumbs and two big toes way, way up!!!

4 Comments

  1. Larisa said,

    May 2, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    My mouth just started watering a little bit when you mentioned their fried pickles. Mmm… Fried pickles…

  2. ash said,

    May 3, 2008 at 2:09 am

    i haven’t been to Katz’s in years. the french toast was my fav!

  3. Chockfull said,

    June 19, 2008 at 12:09 am

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Chockfull.

  4. ash said,

    July 17, 2008 at 3:12 am

    woman you’re behind on your blogging! get busy 🙂


Leave a Reply

