#3

Oh my gosh…y’all, I wasted a whole months worth of Netflix fees because I couldn’t make myself sit down and watch this one:

I finally got it out of the way last weekend, and while it was no Ben Hur, I’m still scratching my head over why people love it so much.  First, it was waaaaaay to violent for my tastes.  I abhor violence and when it reaches gratiuitous levels it totally ruins a flick for me.  Example:  Fight Club.  Hate, hate hate that movie.  Second, I get the whole man v. machine thing.  This movie did nothing to further that point for me.  Third, if the film’s goal was to explore what we consider “human” to be, it did a crap job of it.  Go read William Gibson’s Neuromancer.  It does so much more with the issue.

If anyone wants to tell me why they triple puffy ❤ Blade Runner, I am all ears.  Seriously.

#20

I’m a little over a week into my gossip hiatus and so far so good.  I’ve only been tempted a few times.  Mainly when I’m bored at work.  And my eyes have wandered over to the tabloids while standing in line at the grocery store, but I really try to divert them as soon as I can. 

Three more weeks to go.  I’ll keep you posted.

#96

In the past two weeks the Hubby and I have tried two different Austin restaurants–219 West (which is also kind of a bar) and Moonshine.  I wish I wish I wish we had tried one of the famous Moonshine brunches, but instead we gave the dinner menu a go.  Based on the turkey pesto sandwich and gumbo that we ordered, I give it a solid C.  Nothing outright horrible, but nothing that would make come back for seconds.  I do really want to try the brunch though, so hopefully Moonshine can redeem itself.

219 West, however, was pretty damn good.  We were there for a happy hour birthday party, so we only sampled their appetizer menu.  But it was probably the best “bar food” I’ve had in ages.  The seafood beignets were really good, even if we couldn’t exactly place all the flavors we tasted, and the mini bar burgers were super yummy too.  I also loved that their menu is categorized by what you’re drinking.  It’s a little confusing at first, but once you figure out what the evening’s libation will be, it does a fantastic job of guiding you through their kitchen’s best pairings.  Their staff also did a pretty good job taking care of our party as people were constantly coming and going. 

4 Comments

  1. ash said,

    April 30, 2008 at 4:12 am

    no idea what the blade runner fuss is either. my dad likes it enough that we bought it for him a couple years ago. in my opinion – boring! 🙂

  2. April 30, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    I’m so proud of you on the no gossip stuff for a month. I seriously would DIE!! Keep it up!!

  3. Sara Lamb said,

    April 30, 2008 at 8:51 pm

    I feel the same way about Moonshine, especially their brunch!

    And that is excellant news about 219 West! I’ve never been there except at night when it’s all “bar” … my mother has been looking for a place with good mini-burgers. I’ll have to take her!

  4. Larisa said,

    April 30, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    I love 219 West. We used to go there all the time after work/school to meet with friends and make whole, big meals out of those appetizers. They have super yummy martinis and love their tequila shrimp scampi!


Leave a Reply

