Ketchup (aka #9, 38, 80, 94 & 96)

I’ve been meaning to post for about two weeks now, but a long weekend trip and a nasty cold were enough to “help” me put off the updates for awhile.  Thankfully I’m feeling better and more like blogging, so here goes…

 #9

I cut myself some slack on this one and decided that eating 5 fruits or veggies for 14 out of 21 days was good enough.  Surprisingly it wasn’t that hard.  I’m pretty concious of what I eat every day, so it only took a little bit more brain power to figure out how to work in the extra fruits and veggies.  I was hoping that the project would show in my hips, but alas…

No matter!  I really feel better about incorporating lots of good for me foods into my diet, so now I’m on a mission to try and get 8 servings of fruits or veggies a day.  Wish me luck!!

 #38

Okay so…I kinda got off easy on this one.  While we were in California, the Hubby and I went to Legoland.  It’s mini cities were VERY cool, but the rides were kind of weak.  We were under the impression that there were kiddie and adult rides.  Turns out they were mostly kiddie rides.  BUT I did ride a mini-roller coaster with Rob while we were there.  I am a HUGE weenie when it comes to anything that involves a free-fall, so actually the coasters at Legoland were about as scary/fast/loopy as I’d ever like to find myself.  So I get to cross this one off on a technicality, but Rob says that I’ll have to ride one real one with him at least once sometime soon.  Well see… :o)

#80

The whole point of this goal was to see if the omega 3 pills would help the cats shed less.  It definitely worked for our dog, so we thought it worth the effort to try on our hair-factory cats.  After 3 weeks of almost daily force-feeding them pills (which is not fun for me OR them), it looks like it is working!  Yay!!  Queso and Louie are not at all happy about this new addition to their routine, even though it means they get treats every night too for suffering through it.  Too bad, because I am really loving not getting covered in fur when I sit down on the couch. 

#94

There are days when I lament the Hubby’s sales job (like this morning when I had to get up at 5 a.m. to take him to the airport, and like tomorrow night when I’ll have to fight rush hour traffic on I-35 S to pick him up), but a few weeks ago I certainly was not complaining.  As a reward for a good 2007, his company sent all of the guys in his division and their spouses to Laguna Beach for a long weekend.  Everything was on the company’s dime–flights, rental cars, food, activities, etc.  So I decided this would be the perfect time to indulge in my breakfast in bed.  And the lovely folks at Laguna Cliffs Marriott were great.  Breakfast was yummy and speedy.  It was SO nice to lounge around and wait for someone to bring me breakfast in my jammies for once.  In fact, this may have to become a once-per-trip treat, because it doesn’t get much better than a snuggly bed and stack of pancakes.

#96

After the Laguna Beach trip, I can add 4 new restaurants to my list:, Wolfgang Puck Cafe, Pomodoro
Harbor Grill, and In-N-Out Burger.  Wolfgang’s place (at South Coast Plaza) was awesome.  I ended up with the margarita pizza with pepperoni, which I thought was kind of a cop-out, safe choice out till I took a bite.  YUM.  YUM. YUM.  I do not regret one bite of that stuff. 

At the recommendation of Nestie Kim, Rob and I tried Pomodoro in Laguna Beach.  This place was FANTASTIC.  We had two appetizers (when on the company’s tab why not?)–the Ravioli di Zucca and Gamberi, and two HUGE entrees–Fettucini Alfredo and Mafaldine.  Rob LOVED the Gamberi, which was shrimp sauteed in this spectacular tomato garlic sauce and served with toasted garlic bread, so much that he’s been bugging me to email Bon Appetit to try to get the recipe.  And I was a big fan of the Mafaldine (pasta with shrimp, asparagus and a creamy tomato sauce).  We were so stuffed that we had to get our dessert to go.  :o)

The last night of our trip we went to the Harbor Grill and I did the most decadent thing I’ve ever done:  order an entire bottle of Moet & Chandon just for me.  Rob doesn’t like champagne, but oh how I do.  And again since the company’s buying…hee hee hee.  So our ordering went something like this:  Rob – “I’ll have a margarita.”  Polly – “And I’ll have a bottle of Moet & Chandon.”  And I could care less how much of an alcoholic I looked like.  It was divine.  Dinner started off with oysters on the half shell (for Rob.  I despise the slimy things) and lobster ravioli with a creamy basil sauce for the both of us.  For the main course Rob had snapper with a lemon tarragon aioli that was really really good, and I had the bouillabaisse.  I’ll be honest.  I’ve had better bouillabaisse (namely at Harrah’s in Vegas of all places).  So 2 out of 3 for the Harbor Grille wasn’t bad. 

After we cruised through Legoland and before we got to the airport we decided to see what all the fuss over In-N-Out Burgers was about.  And from what we can tell all you INO fans are just nuts.  To us it was just a regular ol’ fast food burger and with CRAP fries.  They were so freakin’ bland that according to my husband, they “weren’t worth the calories.”  The man that usually will eat anything didn’t finish his burger and only had about 5 fries.  To add insult to injury, we realized after the fact that since Legoland only took us 2 1/2 hours to tour, we easily could’ve ate at one of our favorite San Diego places, Point Loma Seafood.  But by the time we made it to SD, we weren’t hungry anymore and decided to just head for home. 

 All in all a great culinary weekend, with a forgettable finish. 

2 Comments

  1. ash said,

    March 12, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    we tried to find an In-N-Out burger in Vegas which was a fiasco. But we’d heard raves. My dad said he had one when he was in San Diego a couple years ago and thought that Whataburger has better burgers… doesn’t sound all that great to me! I no longer feel like I’m missing out by having never had an In-N-Out burger!

  2. Moni said,

    March 12, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    Hahahah.. I still love it! I’d probably take Whataburger over it, but since one chain takes the place of the other in the different regions.. when in Rome;)


Leave a Reply

