#3

I FINISHED IT!  No not the entire list, but I did finish what could possibly be the worst (in my opinion) movie on that list.  Last night while the Hubby bowled, I finished Ben-Hur.  Thankfully, I was wrong on the length of the movie.  Instead of 7 tiresome hours of Charlton Heston, I only had to endure 3 hrs and 45 mins.  Yahoo!!!!!  Seriously, though, Netflix needs to update their DVD sleeves.  Each disc had a different running time on it, which is why I figured they were the individual running times.  But whatever. 

Overall, I did not enjoy this one.  The acting was overly-dramatic and everyone who was considered a “foreigner” (aka everyone not Roman) automatically had a British accent.  WTF is up with that?  Also, I got a weird case of Grease de jevu when I watched the chariot scene.  It was just like when that Scorpion tries to tear up Kenickie’s car during the big drag race.  I swear to god they used the exact same hubcap-tearer-upper thing in Ben-Hur.  Maybe I can’t appreciate a classic, but when you’re drawing parallels to Grease, it’s kinda hard to understand how the film won 11 Oscars. 

Oh and one more thing, how in the world do they justify giving this movie the subtitle “a Tale of the Christ,” when Tha Man doesn’t have one, single, solitary line in the whole flick?  Very odd…Oh well…1 (or really 24) down, 76 to go!

1 Comment

  1. April 29, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    […] finally got it out of the way last weekend, and while it was no Ben Hur, I’m still scratching my head over why people love it so much.  First, it was waaaaaay to […]


Leave a Reply

